Poem: Peeking Into The Past

Peeking Into The Past

I was once told that nothing lasts forever
But they were wrong, now that I remember
Wounds of the past never permanently go away
For the wound heals but the memories always stay

You try so hard to make yourself forget
But what you achieve is simply more regret
Reliving each memory, each so miserable
Now you wonder, was it even reasonable?

The choices you made, the reasons you shared
At the end, you seemed so prepared
As if you knew that you’d hurt me so
And that all along, I’d never say no

Perhaps I was foolish, perhaps I was too kind
My heart sinks for not following my mind
It hurts when you know that it’s not good for you
But you dive nose deep because you’ve believed so

At the end of it all, you pick up your own pieces
For everyone stares but no one ceases
To stop and help, after hearing you yelp
But that’s what you get, for diving in kelp

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Mohammed Abubakar says:

    Beautiful πŸ˜„πŸ˜„πŸ˜„

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sadaf NS says:

      Thank you for reading πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

